An Eighth Grade Girl with a High School Decision

by Reese Hamilton

It was the year I was going into eighth grade when it came time for me to finalize my decision of which high school I would be attending. I was pretty set on Jefferson City, mainly because that is where the majority of my friends were going. There was about a 5% chance that I would be going to Helias. I guess I really did not like the whole idea of wearing a skirt and not knowing as many people. The main reason there was still a 5% chance was because I had been at a Catholic school my entire life. The most important thing that was on my mind though was soccer. It was my favorite sport and I wanted to go far with it.

I thought to myself for a long time that Jefferson City was the perfect place. It was not going to be as hard to get good grades and their soccer team was great. I had even been coached by the Jefferson City coach many times and I also got to practice with the Jefferson City team until I was in eighth grade. It could not have gotten any easier than this… and it definitely did not. I began thinking about all the good things Helias had to offer like, a good education, learning more about my faith and making new friends. That is when my decision got harder. My parents did not really care where I went they just supported whatever decision I made. My dad knew a lot of people that taught and coached at Jefferson City, but also thought Helias was a good choice. It was all up to me.

I had finally decided one night before I went to bed to pray to God and ask him to guide me in my decision. The next morning I knew exactly where I was going to be attending and that was Jefferson City. I told my parents at breakfast and they told me that I needed to make sure that is for sure where I wanted to go. But that night I was driving home from soccer practice with my dad and he asked once again, “ Is this really what you want to do?” I got a sick feeling in my stomach and thought to myself many things, like if I were to go to Jefferson City I would feel like I was leaving my faith. That is definitely not what I wanted to happen. About a week later I had finally convinced myself that Helias was right for me and there was nothing better.

I could not be any happier than I am today. I love Helias and all the new friends I have made. The great thing about playing soccer is that I get to see all of my friends from Jefferson City at practice. We all like to talk about what happened at school all practice long and it annoys our coach so much. When I think back to this decision I feel like that this is possibly the best decision I have ever made and I am who I am today because of it.

Leave a Reply

